The mission of the Georgia School Boards Association is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education.


GSBA Governance Team of the Year Winner Announced

Media Contact – Justin Pauly, Director of Communications, 770-962-6843,

December 6, 2018 – The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) is pleased to announce Gwinnett County as the winner of the 2018 Governance Team of the Year Award.

For pictures click here.

This prestigious award is presented annually to one Georgia public school district’s board of education and superintendent who have achieved all-around success in their district.  This recognition is deeply rooted in the components of the Georgia Vision Project’s research-based recommendations for Georgia’s public schools.

These finalists were vetted through a stringent application process and a visit by an impartial review team to vet the information in the application.

“We are so pleased to honor Gwinnett County as the Governance Team of the Year. They have exemplified, through work and service, what a high functioning board of education and superintendent look like,” said Katrina Young, GSBA President and Rockdale County Board of Education member.

The winner was announced at the /GSSA Annual Conference at the Renaissance Waverly Hotel in Atlanta, December 6, 2018, from 7-9 p.m. during a banquet honoring the outstanding governance team finalists. There were 33 Georgia school districts that qualified and 10 that chose to submit applications.

The winner was chosen by a panel of national experts who perform various leadership roles in the field of public education.

“The opportunity to spotlight good governance best practices is so vitally important. Gwinnett sets a high bar of achievement, and there is much we can learn from them. The Georgia School Boards Association looks forward to annually highlighting quality governance for the benefit of all boards an superintendents around Georgia.” said Valarie Wilson, GSBA Executive Director.

2018 GSBA Governance Team of the Year Finalists

  • Bleckley County Schools
  • Chickamauga City Schools
  • Dawson County Schools
  • Effingham County Schools
  • Forsyth County Schools
  • Gwinnett County Schools
  • Jefferson City Schools
  • Lumpkin County Schools
  • Pierce County Schools
  • Schley County Schools

For more information on the Governance Team of the Year program click here.