The mission of the Georgia School Boards Association is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education.


GSBA: FY23 Officers & Conference Highlights

MEDIA CONTACT: Justin Pauly, Director of Communications, 770-962-6843,
Follow us on facebook and twitter.

JUNE 15, 2022 – On Friday, June 10, 2022, representatives from school boards in Georgia met during the 2022 GSBA Summer Conference in Savannah for training and sharing best practices, to approve the legislative positions of the association, and to elect GSBA’s 2022-2023 officers during the annual Delegate Assembly. The complete list of approved legislative positions will be posted on GSBA’s website.

The GSBA Summer Conference was held at the Hyatt Regency in Savannah, June 10-11. GSBA offered 3 pre-conference workshops that allowed board members to complete training hours: Best Practices, Board & Superintendent Relations, and the Policy Workshop.

The attendees heard from party nominees for state-wide offices that directly impact education.  Governor Brian Kemp (incumbent), Republican, Ms. Stacey Abrams (gubernatorial nominee), Democrat, along with State School Superintendent Richard Woods (incumbent) Republican, and Ms. Alisha Thomas Searcy (state school superintendent nominee), Democrat, made their cases to conference attendees. They also heard from Mr. Brian Jordan, former player with the Atlanta Braves and the Atlanta Falcons. Jordan is currently an Emmy award winning on-air sports analyst for the Braves and works with local schools through The Brian Jordan Foundation focusing on literacy.

GSBA Officers were elected at the Annual Business Meeting of the Delegate Assembly and will assume office on July 1, 2022.

Our new slate of officers for the one-year term are:

  • Shakila Henderson-Baker, Newton County Schools will serve as President July 1 – June 30, 2023.
  • Coleman Landers, Walton County Schools Chairman, will serve as President-elect for July 1 – June 30, 2023.
  • John Jackson, Baldwin County Schools, will serve as Vice President for July 1- June 30, 2023.
  • Ron HopkinsJefferson City Schools, is completing his first year of a 3-year term as GSBA Treasurer. (GSBA Treasurer is a 3-year term rather than one.)
  • Bryan Preston, Coffee County Schools, becomes the immediate past president for July 1 – June 30, 2023.

For more information on the Georgia School Boards Association and the services provided, please visit To find out more about the GSBA Board of Directors, please visit