The mission of the Georgia School Boards Association is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education.


GSBA Elects New Officers & Adopts Legislative Positions for the 2019-2020 Year

JUNE 11, 2019– Local boards of education and superintendents met June 7-8 in Savannah for the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) Summer Conference and Delegate Assembly.

On Friday, June 7, representatives from 122 school boards in Georgia met to approve the legislative positions of the association and to elect GSBA’s 2019-2020 officers. The complete list of approved legislative positions will be posted soon on GSBA’s website.

Mr. Frank Griffin, Chair of the Lee County School Board, was installed as president. Mrs. Pat Hugley Green, Chair of the Muscogee County School Board, was installed as president elect. Mr. Bryan Preston, member of the Coffee County School Board, was installed as vice president.  Mr. Ron Hopkins, with the Jefferson City School Board, continues in his third year of a three-year term as Treasurer.

Prior to the conference, hundreds of school board members convened in Savannah at the Hyatt to fulfill their annual training requirements as outlined in Georgia law. GSBA offered 3 workshops to allow board members to receive training: Best Practices in Board Governance Workshop, Communications Workshop and the Policy Workshop. New this year, a Support Staff Workshop was also offered to Central Office Support.

For more information on the Georgia School Boards Association and the services provided, please visit