The mission of the Georgia School Boards Association is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education.


GSBA Elects New Officers & Adopts Legislative Positions for the 2018-2019 Year

MEDIA CONTACT: Justin Pauly, GSBA Director of Communications


Follow us on facebook and twitter.


JUNE 13, 2018– Local boards of education and superintendents met June 8-9 in Savannah for the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) Summer Conference and Delegate Assembly.

On Friday, June 8, representatives from 124 school boards in Georgia met to approve the legislative positions of the association and to elect GSBA’s 2018-2019 officers.

Ms. Katrina Young, of the Rockdale County School Board was installed as president. Mr. Frank Griffin, Chair of the Lee County School Board was installed as president elect. Ms. Patricia Hugley-Green, of the Muscogee County School Board was installed as vice president. Mr. Ron Hopkins, Chair of the Jefferson City School Board, continues his second year of a three-year term as Treasurer.

Prior to the conference, hundreds of school board members convened in Savannah at the Hyatt to fulfill their annual training requirements as outlined in Georgia law. GSBA offered 4 workshops to allow board members to receive training: New Board Member Orientation, Policy, Rewriting the Rules for Student Success and Community Enrichment and True Community Engagement.

Watch GSBAtv and learn some of what was discussed at the conference by keynote and student speakers as well as candidates for state school superintendent. Click here or search #GSBATV or #GSBASC18 on GSBA facebook and twitter.

For more information on the Georgia School Boards Association and the services provided please visit