Connect With GSBA

5120 Sugarloaf Pkwy, Lawrenceville, GA 30043

Toll Free: (800) 226-1856
Local: (770) 962-2985
Fax: (770) 962-5392

Follow Us:

GSBA Elects New Officers & Adopts Legislative Positions for the 2017-2018 Year


MEDIA CONTACT: Justin Pauly, GSBA Director of Communications, 770-962-6843, jpauly@

Follow us on facebook and twitter.

JUNE 13, 2017– Local boards of education and superintendents met June 9-10 in Savannah for the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) Summer Conference and Delegate Assembly.


On Friday, June 9, representatives from 133 school boards in Georgia met to approve the legislative positions of the association and to elect GSBA’s 2017-2018 officers. Click here to read the complete list of legislative positions which can be found on GSBA’s website.


Mr. Tom Odom, Chair of the Oconee County School Board was installed as president. Ms. Katrina Young, of the Rockdale County School Board was installed as president elect. Mr. Frank Griffin, Chair of the Lee County School Board was installed as vice president. Mr. Ron Hopkins, Chair of the Jefferson City School Board, begins a three-year term as Treasurer.


Prior to the conference, hundreds of school board members convened in Savannah at the Hyatt to fulfill their annual training requirements as outlined in Georgia law. GSBA offered four workshops to allow board members to receive training: the New Board Member Orientation, Equity, Policy and the Data Workshop.

For more information on the Georgia School Boards Association and the services provided please visit