The mission of the Georgia School Boards Association is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education.


GSBA Announces Governance Team of the Year Finalists

Media Contact– Justin Pauly, Director of Communications, 770-962-6843,


October 15, 2018- The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2018 Governance Team of the Year Award. This prestigious award will be presented annually to one Georgia public school district’s board of education and superintendent who have achieved all-around success in their district.  This recognition is deeply rooted in the components of the Georgia Vision Project’s research-based recommendations for Georgia’s public schools.


These finalists were vetted through a stringent application process and a visit by an impartial review team to vet the information in the application.


“This group of ten school districts from all over Georgia exemplify what it means to achieve at the highest levels. We are very pleased with this inaugural class for the Governance Team of the Year,” said Katrina Young, GSBA President and Rockdale County Board of Education member.


The winner will be announced at the /GSSA Annual Conference at the Renaissance Waverly Hotel in Atlanta, December 6, 2018, during a banquet honoring these outstanding governance teams. There were 33 Georgia school districts that qualified and 10 that chose to submit applications.


The winner will be chosen by a panel of national experts who perform various leadership roles in the field of public education.


“Board of education members and superintendents must operate with a high level of functionality in order for a school district to achieve student success,” said Valarie Wilson, GSBA Executive Director. “This award will not only honor the school district but highlight best practices on an annual basis.”


2018 GSBA Governance Team of the Year Finalists

  • Bleckley County Schools
  • Chickamauga City Schools
  • Dawson County Schools
  • Effingham County Schools
  • Forsyth County Schools
  • Gwinnett County Schools
  • Jefferson City Schools
  • Lumpkin County Schools
  • Pierce County Schools
  • Schley County Schools