New GSBA Officers Elected

MEDIA CONTACT: Justin Pauly, Director of Communications, 770-962-6843,

Follow us on facebook and twitter.

June 12, 2024 – On Friday, June 7, 2024, representatives from school boards in Georgia met to approve the legislative positions of the association and to elect GSBA’s 2024-2025 officers. The complete list of approved legislative positions will be posted on GSBA’s website.

The officers of GSBA are the president, president-elect, vice president, treasurer and immediate past president. Officers are elected at the Annual Business Meeting of the Delegate Assembly and assume office on July 1. The president-elect becomes president for the year succeeding election as president-elect.

Our new slate of officers for the one-year term are:

  • John Jackson, Baldwin County Schools, is the new GSBA President for our fiscal year that runs from July 1 – June 30, 2025.
  • Amy Murphy, Bryan County Schools Board Chair, is the new President-Elect for July 1 – June 30, 2025.
  • Cornelius Ball, Turner County Schools, is the new Vice President for July 1 – June 30, 2025.
  • Shakila Henderson-Baker, Newton County Schools Vice Chair, is the new Treasurer for July 1 – June 30, 2025.
  • Coleman Landers, Walton County Schools, becomes the immediate past president for July 1 – June 30, 2025.

The GSBA Summer Conference was held at the Hyatt Regency in Savannah, June 7-8. GSBA offered 3 pre-conference workshops that allowed board members to complete training hours: Best Practices, Support Staff, and the Policy Workshop.

For more information on the Georgia School Boards Association and the services provided, please visit To find out more about the GSBA Board of Directors, please visit