The mission of the Georgia School Boards Association is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education.


Katrina Young

Back to Board of Directors

Past President

Katrina P. Young has served on the Rockdale County Board of Education since 2007 and is the system’s designee for the GSBA Delegate Assembly. Young became GSBA District 4 Director in 2011. She serves on several GSBA committees, including Governmental Operations, Strategic Planning, the Executive Committee, the NSBA Advocacy Institute (FRN), and is a GSBA Risk Management Fund Trustee. She also serves as a mentor for new school board members. Young is the Director of Continuing Education of Economic Development at Georgia Piedmont Technical College. She is active in multiple nonprofit and civic organizations such as the Rotary Club of Conyers, the Rockdale County Public Schools District Strategic Planning Committee, and the Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology Advisory Board.