The mission of the Georgia School Boards Association is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education.


GSBA Leading Edge Award

Leading Edge photo with gears

The GSBA Leading Edge Award seeks to highlight school districts who are leading the way in ensuring students are competitive in an ever-changing global market.

This unique achievement will recognize innovative design and implementation of projects and programs by local governance teams that are having a significant positive impact on student’s achievement and engagement. The award is open to any school system in Georgia.


The applicants select one of the 9 components of the Georgia Vision for Public Education that aligns to their innovative practice. Please note that the Vision Recommendations have been updated for 2021.

  1. Continuous Improvement
  2. Communication
  3. Early Learning & Student Success
  4. Teaching & Learning
  5. Teaching & Learning Resources
  6. Human & Organizational Capital
  7. Governance, Leadership & Accountability
  8. Culture, Climate & Organizational Efficacy
  9. Financial Resources

2021 GSBA Leading Edge Award Recipients

Atlanta Public Schools

Baldwin County Schools

Barrow County Schools

Carrollton City Schools

Chattahoochee County Schools

Cherokee County Schools

Coffee County Schools

Dooly County Schools

Fayette County Schools

Harris County Schools

Heard County Schools

Henry County Schools

Houston County Schools

Jefferson City Schools

Liberty County Schools

Lumpkin County Schools

McDuffie County Schools

Meriwether County Schools

Muscogee County Schools

Newton County Schools

Oconee County Schools

Oglethorpe County Schools

Pike County Schools

Rockdale County Schools

Social Circle City Schools

Toombs County Schools

Walton County Schools

Washington County Schools

The awards will be presented at the 2021 GSBA/GSSA Annual Conference at the Waverly in Atlanta. The Award will be rated and scored by the Georgia Association of Curriculum & Instruction Supervisors (GACIS.) We look forward to honoring the outstanding work of school districts all over Georgia.

Applications for 2021 will be accepted through Friday, October 8 by 5:00pm and judged on the criteria below:

  • All applications must include a description of no more than 750 words
  • 4 artifacts via links supporting the description and
  • 4 letters of district and/or community support which describes the impact of the program.
  • NOTE: Returning applicants must submit different innovative practices for this year’s competition.

Throughout the year, Leading Edge Award recipients may be asked to present on their recognized program at GSBA trainings and events.

For questions, please contact Leigh Crow at or 770.962.6847.

Please note:

The Leading Edge award and the Governance Team of the Year award are different from the board recognition program (Quality, Distinguished & Exemplary Boards). The board recognition program still exists and will be awarded this year at the GSBA/GSSA Annual Conference.