The mission of the Georgia School Boards Association is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s elected boards of education.


Awards & Recognition

Board Recognition Program

The GSBA Board Recognition Program is a 3 tier process to achieve the highest level in board governance. The 3 recognition levels are Quality, Distinguished and Exemplary with Exemplary the highest level. GSBA developed this program to reflect the state standards, which offers school boards additional ways to increase their effectiveness. The State Board of Education developed the state standards for governance that form the foundation for GSBA’s awards and recognition program. In FY18, the program was revised to add two additional criteria.

Boards no longer must go through the 3 levels in succession. The board may apply for the level in which it meets all the criteria.

The program operates on a July 1-June 30 fiscal year. Due to COVID-19, deadlines have been extended to September 30, 2021.
Participating districts must apply online by August 2, 2021, and all board member training must be completed by 5:00 p.m. on September 30, 2021 (date extended from June) in order to receive recognition. These awards will be presented during the GSBA/GSSA Annual Conference in December.

Previous Award Winners are listed below. In FY20 there were 15 Quality Boards, 8 Distinguished Boards, and 58 Exemplary Boards.

This Board Recognition Program requires a high level of commitment from school boards and individual members. The ultimate goal is to provide a platform based on governance standards which challenges boards, but creates a culture of success for students and communities.

FY21 Board Recognition Chart


Online Applications: 

Previous Board Award Listings

* 2017 Program was Temporarily Suspended

Other GSBA Awards

GSBA will continue the regular cycle for the Partnership Commendations, Beacon Awards and Board Service Recognition.

The 2022 School Boards Appreciation Week is March 14-20, 2022.

GSBA is proud to serve the state’s locally elected boards of education. GSBA has developed numerous ways to assist local systems in honoring local boards and board members!  THANKS for all you do for Georgia public school students!

Governor’s 2021 Proclamation (click to view/download)